



















25 July, 2017

ATTN: Mr Angel Gurría Secretary General Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development 2, rue André Pascal 75775 Paris Cedex 16 France

Dear Sir/Madam:

Health Action International and the endorsing organisations commend the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) for taking action on the G7 health ministers' call, led by France, to "encourage access to medicines and health care, and ensur[e] the sustainability of health systems", following the ministerial meeting in Kobe, Japan, in December, 2016. We welcome the possibility of further engagement with the OECD as it finalises its report on sustainable access to innovative therapies.

We applaud the OECD's analysis of the current challenges facing sustainable access to innovative therapies because it clearly acknowledges serious impediments within the current innovation system—particularly the reliance on patents and other market exclusivities, as well as approval of new products that are no better, and sometimes worse, than available treatments, which results in:

- unaffordable high prices for the few real therapeutic innovations, which do not consistently lead to increased health benefits;
- the worrying lack of new and effective antibiotics;
- scarce availability of therapeutic innovations for neglected diseases; and
- other unmet medical needs.

At the same time, however, we are concerned that the policy options presented so far by the OECD do not take the urgency and seriousness of current global health needs into account. Millions of people have no access to new biomedical innovations because they are unaffordable and unavailable. We therefore urge the OECD to include recommendations for the systematic use of TRIPS flexibilities and other measures, which would facilitate access to innovative therapies.

The current global situation demands bold and decisive steps. In coherence with its assessment, the OECD's recommendations to member countries should extend beyond what is already in place. The Medicines Patent Pool and Drugs for Neglected Diseases Initiative both constitute thriving examples of novel approaches to improving access to innovative therapies. It would therefore be valuable for the OECD to recommend that member countries carry out feasibility studies to assess other delinkage mechanisms.

In addition, we are also concerned that, although civil society participated and contributed substantively to the consultation process, preferential treatment was given to other stakeholders. We therefore call on the OECD to hold another consultation meeting with civil society prior to finalising the report. In addition, civil society should be afforded the opportunity to review and offer revisions to the report before it is published.

Sincerely,

in Kets

Tim Reed Executive Director, Health Action International Tel: +31 20 412 4523 | Email: tim@haiweb.org Christian Wagner-Ahlfs

Managing Director, BUKO Pharma-Kampagne

Fanny Voitzwinkler,

Head of the European Union Office, Global Health Advocates

Vita Dumpe

Board Chair, Health Projects for Latvia

Diarmaid McDonald.

Lead Organiser, Just Treatment

Olivier Maguet

"Drug Pricing and Health Systems" Campaign Executive Officer, Medecins du Monde-France

Pierre Chirac

Prescrire Editorial Staff, Prescrire

Patrick Durisch

Health Programme Coordinator, Public Eye

Tabitha Ha.

Advocacy Officer, STOPAIDS

Mariëlle Bemelmans

Director, Wemos Foundation

## Cc:

Mr Anthony Rottier, Executive Director, OECD

Mr Stefano Scarpetta, Director, Directorate for Employment, Labour and Social Affairs, OECD

Ms Valérie Paris, Senior Health Policy Analyst / Project Leader, OECD

Ms Rabia Khan, Policy Analyst, OECD

Ms Allison Colbert, Health Policy Consultant, OECD

Mr Martin Wenzl, Researcher, Health Division, OECD

## **Permanent Ambassadors to the OECD**

Mr Brian Pontifex (Australia)
Marlies Stubit-Weidinger (Austria)
Mr Jean Joël Schittecatte (Belgium)
Ms Michelle d'Auray (Canada)
Ms Claudia Serrano Madrid (Chile)
Mr Peter Gandalovic (Czech Republic)

Mr Klavs A. Holm (Denmark)
Mr Alar Streimann (Estonia)
Mr Pekka Pusstinen (Finland)
Mr Pierre Dusquesne (France)
Mr Martin Hanz (Germany)
Mr George Krimpas (Greece)
Mr Zoltán Cséfalvay (Hungary)
Mr Kristján Andri Stefánsson (Iceland)

Mr Dermot Nolan (Ireland)

Mr Carmel Shama Hacohen (Israel) Mr Alessandro Busacca (Italy) Mr Hiroshi OE (Japan)
Mr Jong-Won YOON (Korea)
Ms Ivita Burmistre (Latvia)
Mr Paul Dühr (Luxembourg)

Mr Dionisio Pérez-Jacome (Mexico) Mr Noé van Hulst (Netherlands) Mr James Kember (New Zealand) Ms Elin Østebø Johansen (Norway) Mr Aleksander Surdej (Poland) Mr Paulo Vizeu Pinheiro (Portugal)

Ms Irena Sodin (Slovenia) Mr José Ignacio Wert (Spain) Ms Annika Markovic (Sweden) Mr Ulrich Lehner (Switzerland) Mr Erdem Bascı (Turkey)

Mr Christopher Sharrock (United Kingdom) Mr Rupert Schlegelmilch (European Union)